When you share your desktop or application it is seen by everybody in the live session and anybody viewing the recording later.  Make sure to close any windows and applications you don’t want others to see before starting to share e.g. Outlook / Teams.  In addition the share Application/Screen requires good network connection for both the moderator / presenter and participants.  For further details and troubleshooting network connection issues please see Collaborate’s own Network Connection Troubleshooting page.

From the Share Content panel in your Collaborate session select Share Screen / Application.  The Share your screen window will open:

Screen image showing the Share Application / Screen window in Collaborate.

NB: If you are working with a single monitor, you will not be able to see the Collaborate session when sharing your entire screen.  Prepare what it is you want to share before entering the session and simply minimise it to your task bar, or have it open in a separate browser tab.

[1] Your Entire Screen – selecting this and then clicking on Share [5] will (on a single monitor) cause a “time-warp tunnel” effect:

Screen image showing the 'time warp tunnel' effect when sharing entire screen in Collaborate when you only have one monitor or share the screen showing the Collaborate session.

Simply click on the minimised task bar icon to open it or minimise your browser window and then navigate to the item you wish to show.  If you are going to share anything containing audio and or video please see Share Audio and Video Streams section.

[2] Application Window – selecting this will give you a thumbnail view of each of the applications you currently have open on your PC e.g. a word document, PowerPoint or other programme.  If you wish to share a PowerPoint make sure your presentation is set up and running before selecting Share Application.  Select which you wish to share and then click on Share [5].

Screen image showing the Share Application / Screen window with the Application Window selected in Collaborate.

NB: The share Application Window does not offer the Share Audio [4].

[3] Chrome Tab –selecting this will give you a list view of all the Chrome tabs you currently have open.  Select which you wish to share and then click on Share [5].  If you are going to share anything containing audio and or video please see Share Audio and Video Streams section.

Screen image showing the Share Application / Screen window with the Chrome Tab selected in Collaborate.

NB: When navigating your Chrome tabs be careful not to close the tab that has the current Collaborate session running, or you will be lose connection to your virtual room!

Share Audio and Video streams and files

Share video from sites like YouTube, or open video and audio files you have on your desktop in a new Chrome tab to share them.  From the Share Content panel in your Collaborate session select Share Application/ Screen.  Then select the Chrome Tab [3] option.

NB: If you are on Windows, you can also select Entire Screen [1].

Ensure you select the Share audio [4] check box.  Choose the tab you want to share from the list, then select Share [5].

NB: When sharing a video or audio via Application/Screen share, mute your own microphone so that the sound doesn’t feed back through to the Collaborate session via the microphone.